Council Minutes 6-27-2022

Regular Meeting

                                                                                                June 27, 2022


                The Council for the City of Wilton, Iowa met in regular session in the Council Chambers at City Hall on Monday June 27, 2022  Mayor Pro-tem Steve Owens called the meeting to order at 6:00 PM and then led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.  

Council Members present:  Bill Voss, Wayne Budding, Steve Owens and Sheryl Lenker


 The agenda was presented for approval.  It was moved by Member Budding seconded by Member Lenker that the agenda be approved as presented. The vote recorded as follows: Ayes: All   Nays: None   Motion Carried


The consent agenda was presented for approval. Items included were: Minutes from 6/13/2022 meeting, Wilton Pool Allocation and Dance Hall/Cigarette Permits/Game Room It was moved by Member Voss seconded by Member Lenker that the consent agenda be approved as presented. The vote recorded as follows: Ayes: All   Nays: None   Motion Carried




                In the absence of City Administrator Jeff Horne, Mayor Pro-tem Steve Owens read the following report:

                The sidewalk project is moving right along. The City crew has done a lot of backfill and seeding.

                I had a meeting with HR Green and IDALS staff to get Triple B’s portion of the SRF project closed out.           

                I submitted invoices to the state so we can get reimbursement. I met with Muscatine staff regarding the Y-14 trail project. The      State has encouraged the Muscatine County jurisdictions to go together on one larger application for our area so we will be    combining it with their amphitheater project. We have a good chance at success with Wilton, Muscatine County, and the City of        Muscatine going in together. I am meeting with the County Engineer shortly after my return.

                I attended the MSORT demonstration with the Mayor and Chief Clark. It was a very interesting demonstration of their gear,                 operations and capabilities.

                The Ash Tree contractor is going to begin removing trees on July 6th.

                Work on the new well and Cherrydale Park restroom will begin after the 4th of July when the youth leagues are done.




                Police Chief Dave Clark swore in new hire Police officer/EMS director Nick Frommelt.  Nick was introduced to the Council at the last council meeting.  Nick’s tentative starting date is July 20th.  The City and the Wilton Police Department are excited to have Nick as a new employee.  We feel that he will be a great asset for both the police department and the EMS department.  


                Police Chief Clark presented Hunter Hill, Easton Sivia, Drew Harris and Charlie Bazal with a Youth Hero/ Good Deed Certificate.  These young men helped an elderly woman that had fallen in her yard.  They could have passed by and continued on their bike ride but they choose to stop and ask if she needed help.   The resident indeed needed the help of the young men, and they called 911 for her. They waited with her until help came.  They truly were hero’s on this day and the City of Wilton and the Wilton Police Department thanked them for coming to the aide of this resident.




            Council Member Voss wanted to discuss the recent changes in Iowa for the ATV/UTV bill.  All terrain vehicle (ATV) and utility terrain vehicle (UTV) users will now be able to ride in any of Iowa’s 99 counties. With the new law the City can no longer charge a fee for a sticker and inspection.  Chief Clark explained that an ATV is a vehicle that can be straddled by a single rider, while a UTV is designed with a cabin for multiple riders. UTV is the same as an off-road utility vehicle. Those who choose to take advantage of these changes will still have to adhere to many restrictions. ATVs and UTVs have a speed limit of 35 mph, and must be operated by a person who is at least 18 years old with a valid driver’s license and carrying valid proof of insurance. All ATVs and UTVs must have operational headlights, tail and brake lights, horn and rearview mirrors. Riders will be allowed to ride day or night. ATVs and UTVs may only be operated on state highways, and may not travel on four-lane or interstate roads. They may be driven on any county unpaved gravel road. If driving on a state two-lane highway or county highway, it must be over the most direct and accessible route to or from an all-terrain vehicle park or trail, to the nearest county road, or an authorized city street or one’s residence. All Iowa cities may regulate ATV and UTV traffic within their city limits, including primary and secondary road extensions, but cities may not charge a fee to ATV and UTV owners for use of their streets. The Council instructed Chief Clark to investigate the matter and advise them of the needed changes.


Mayor Stanley joined the meeting at 6:30

                Mayor Keith Stanley read the thank you note received from the family of Myrna Miller.  The note from Council Member Sheryl Lenker said:  I want to thank you for the beautiful plant in memory of my mom.  Your thoughtful expression of sympathy was very appreciated.  



                Member Owens said he received complaints about the smell from the grass and yard waste area at the convenience center.   The city is clearing the area more often to help with the smell.  He wondered if pouring a cement pad would make it easier to clean it off and maybe eliminate the smell.  The Council would like Public Works Director VanDusen look into possible solutions for this problem.




The Financial Statements were accepted and placed on file.  It was moved by Member Budding seconded by Member Owens that the total disbursements of $492,527.30 approved by the Finance Committee, be allowed and instruct the City Clerk to pay the same.  The vote recorded as follows: Ayes: All   Nays: None   Motion Carried 


No further business, this meeting was adjourned. 



                                                                                                                Mayor Keith Stanley



City Clerk Kathryn Koele